From: Kenji Doya (
Date: Thu Apr 14 2005 - 05:38:28 CEST

Apologies for multiple postings, but here is a reminder that the
deadline of application for OCNC2005 is coming soon. Abstracts of
all the lectures are now on the web. We will again have support for
travel and lodging, at a seaside resort overlooking coral reefs.

Best wishes,
Kenji Doya
                Call for Applications
        Application deadline: APRIL 20TH, 2005

Date: July 1st to 10th, 2005
Place: Rizzan Sea-Park Hotel, Tancha Bay (
                Onna village, Okinawa, Japan

Theme: Predictions and Decisions
Lectures by leading theoretical and experimental neuroscientists will be
given in the morning and afternoon, and the evening will be open for
discussions and student projects.

Confirmed Lecturers:
        Bernard Balleine (UCLA)
        Andrew G. Barto (University of Massachusetts)
        Nathaniel Daw (Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit, UCL)
        Peter Dayan (Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit, UCL)
        Kenji Doya (Initial Research Project, OIST)
        Mitsuo Kawato (ATR, Computational Neuroscience Laboratories)
        Minoru Kimura (Kyoto Prefectural University of Medicine)
        Daeyeol Lee (University of Rochester)
        John O'Doherty (California Institute of Technology)
        Anitha Pasupathy (MIT)
        Masamichi Sakagami (Taand scalability issues in data mining
    * Data pre-processing, data reduction, feature selection and feature
     a Shadmehr (Johns Hopkins University)
        Stefan Schaal (University of Southern California)
        Leo Sugrue (Stanford University)
        Jun Tanji (Tohoku University)

Student Projects:
        a) basic computing (for students new to modeling)
        b) computational modeling
        c) psychophysical experiments
Each student will present his/her current work at the beginning of the
course and the summary of his/her project work at the end of the course.

        Peter Dayan, Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit
        Kenji Doya, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology
        Masamichi Sakagami, Tamagawa University

Advisory Board:
        Sydney Brenner, Salk Institute
        Masao Ito, RIKEN Brain Science Institute
        Terrence Sejnowski, Salk Institute
        Susumu Tonegawa, MIT
        Torsten Wiesel, Rockfeller University

        Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Project, Cabinet Office,
        Integrative Research Project for Brain Function
        Center of Excellence Program, Tamagawa University
        Japanese Neural Network Society

******* Application *******

We invite graduate students and postgraduate researchers to participate
in the course. Please send the following by e-mail ( or
the web application page by APRIL 20TH, 2005.

1) First name, 2) Middle initial (if any), 3) Family name, 4) Degree,
5) Date of birth, 6) Gender, 7) Nationality, 8) Affiliation, 9)
10) Advisor, 11) Postal address, 12) Phone, 13) Fax, 14) E-mail,
15) Web page (if any), 16) Educational background, 17) Work experience,
18) List of publications, 19) Research interests (up to 500 words),
20) Motivations for attending the course (up to 500 words), 21) Two
whom can ask recommendations (names, affiliations, e-mail addresses),
22) Need for travel support, 23) How you learned about the course.

We will accept 30 students based primarily on their research interests
(19) and motivations (20). We will also consider the balance of members'
research disciplines, geographic origins, and genders. Recommendation
letters are not required for application; we may contact some of the
referees to help us make difficult decisions.

The sponsor will provide lodging and meals during the course. Support
roundtrip airfare to Okinawa will be considered for students without
The result of selection will be informed to applicants via e-mail by
May 10th.

******* Secretariat *******

Okinawa Computational Neuroscience Course
c/o Initial Research Project, Okinawa Institute of Science and
12-22 Suzaki, Gushikawa
Okinawa 904-2234, Japan
Phone: ectronically. Detailed
 instructions are provided on the conference home page at
 Conference Co-Chairs:
    * Vijay Raghavan, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
    * Rajeev Rastogi, Bell Laboratories, Lucent, USA
 Program Committee Chairs:
    * Jaiwei Han, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
    * Benjamin Wah, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
 Program Committee Vice-Chairs:
    * Daniel Barbara, George Mason University, USA
    * Tamraparni Dasu, AT&T Research, USA
    * Inderjit Dhillon, University of Texas, USA
    * Venkatesh Ganti, Microsoft Research, USA
    * Bart Goethals, University of Antwerp, Belgium
    * Dimitris Gunopulos, University of California, Riverside, USA
    * George Karypis, University of Minnesota, USA
    * Hillol Kargupta, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, USA
    * S. Muthu Muthukrishnan, Rutgers University, USA
    * Dino Pedreschi, University of Pisa, Italy
    * Jian Pei, Simon Fraser University, Canada
    * Raghu Ramakrishnan, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
    * Sunita Sarawagi, IIT-Bombay, India
    * Arno Siebes, Utrecht University, Netherlands
    * Jeffrey X. Yu, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
 Panels Chair/Co-Chair
    * Lee Giles, Pennsylvania State University, USA
    * Gary Flake, Yahoo Research Labs, USA
 Publicity Chairs
    * Ning Zhong, Maebashi Institute of Technology, Japan
    * Zonghuan Wu, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
 Proceedings Chair
    * Xindong Wu, University of Vermont, USA
 Registrations Chair/Co-chair
    * Elizabeth Diaz, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
    * Ying Xie, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
 Workshops Chair
    * Pawan Lingras, Saint Mary's University, Canada
 Tutorials Chair
    * Haesun Park, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, USA
 Budget Manager
    * Biren Shah, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
 Local Arrangements Chair/Co-chairs
    * Elizabeth Diaz, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
    * Anna Robin, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
    * Anca Doloc-Mihu, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
 ICDM Steering Committee
    * Max Bramer, University of Portsmouth (UK)
    * Nick Cercone, Dalhousie University (Canada)
    * Ramamohanarao Kotagiri, University of Melbourne (Australia)
    * Vipin Kumar, University of Minnesota (USA)
    * Katharina Morik, University of Dortmund (Germany)
    * Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro, KDnuggets (USA)
    * Benjamin W. Wah, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (USA)
    * Xindong Wu (Chair), University of Vermont (USA)
    * Philip S. Yu, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center (USA)
    * Ning Zhong, Maebashi Institute of Technology (Japan)
 Further Information
 Vijay Raghavan
 University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
 Phone: 337-482-6603
 Fax: 337-482-5791

Home   Login   Meetings   Courses   Belgium   Maillist   Credits
  Servers   Links   Archive

Please send comments and suggestions to Mike Wijnants.

Page last updated on © BBF 1998 all rights reserved